The Model WTO each year focuses on a specific topic that is addressed in six different committees. The international participants represent the interests of ten different countries and the HSG Bachelor students that are enrolled in the “Model WTO” course lead the discussions. That means that each committee is led by two chairs, both coming from the University of St. Gallen. These chairs guide the negotiations by declaring the opening and closing of each meeting and directing the discussion. They accord the right to speak, submit questions for decision, announce the result of the decisions and have complete control of the proceedings. The Chairs are neutral in the discussions, nevertheless they seek for compromises and mediate between the different parties whenever this is necessary.


The selection of the chairs is not only based on their study background but is mainly determined by their interest in international trade and the world of international economic policy and their mediation skills. The two-semester course guarantees that the students are adequately prepared for their role as chairs.

For any questions related to the course and the selection process contact us at


Learn more about the 6ECTS Bachelor Course

Apply as Chair